Honor has set September 28, 2026 as the launch date for its Magic9 series, unveiling the lineup at a Beijing event the company is calling the Magic Grand Ceremony. Three models are expected on stage: the standard Magic9, the camera focused Magic9 Pro Max, and a battery heavy Magic9 Super Edition. Honor has already confirmed the dual 200MP rear camera system and its collaboration with German cinema camera maker ARRI through official teasers, while chipset, battery and charging figures are still coming from near final leaks.
Here is everything currently known about the Honor Magic9 series design, cameras, performance and pricing ahead of the official reveal.
Quick Summary
- Launch date: September 28, 2026, in Beijing. The event is China only for now.
- Lineup: Honor Magic9, Magic9 Pro Max and Magic9 Super Edition.
- Camera highlight: Dual 200MP main and telephoto sensors co-engineered with ARRI, with up to a 3 degree mechanical gimbal on the Pro Max.
- Chipsets (leaked): Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 on the Magic9, a newer Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 Pro on the Magic9 Pro Max.
- Battery: up to 11,000mAh on the Super Edition, the largest yet in a Honor flagship.
- Pricing: not announced. Global availability has also not been confirmed.
Key Specifications
Honor has not published an official spec sheet yet, so most figures below come from near final leaks reported by outlets tracking insider Digital Chat Station, alongside details Honor itself confirmed in teaser images.
| Feature | Honor Magic9 | Honor Magic9 Pro Max | Honor Magic9 Super Edition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.37-inch LTPS, 2664 x 1236, 120Hz | 6.8-inch, 0.98mm bezels, 120Hz | 6.8-inch, 165Hz |
| Chipset | Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 | Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 Pro (2nm) | Not disclosed |
| RAM / Storage | 12GB/256GB up to 16GB/1TB | 12GB/256GB up to 16GB/1TB | 12GB/256GB up to 16GB/512GB |
| Rear cameras | 200MP main (f/1.9) + 50MP ultrawide + 200MP periscope telephoto | Dual 200MP ARRI-tuned: main f/1.57 with gimbal stabilization + 200MP periscope f/2.6 | 50MP main + 12MP ultrawide + 50MP telephoto |
| Front camera | 55MP, square format | 55MP, square format | Not disclosed |
| Battery | 8,000mAh | 8,800mAh | 11,000mAh |
| Wired charging | 80W (leaked) | 100W (leaked) | Not disclosed |
| Wireless charging | 50W (leaked) | 80W (leaked) | Not disclosed |
| IP rating | IP68 / IP69 / IP69K | IP68 / IP69 / IP69K | Not disclosed |
| Colors | Yellow Rice, Olive Green, Morning White, Curtain Black | Moss Green, Silver, Shadow Black | Yellow Rice, Olive Green, Morning White, Curtain Black |
| Starting price | Not announced | Not announced | Not announced |
Design and Build
Teaser images show a large rectangular rear camera module with three cutouts. The telephoto lens, LED flash and an ARRI logo sit in the biggest cutout on the left, with two more circular housings for the remaining sensors. Honor has shown the Pro Max in a Moss Green finish, and rumors point to a squared off selfie camera cutout on the higher end models versus a pill shaped cutout with a 3D ToF sensor on the standard Magic9.
The Magic9 is said to use a cold carved glass back, while the Super Edition swaps in a glass-fiber composite body paired with active cooling, a combination aimed more at sustained performance than at being the thinnest phone in the range.
Display
The standard Magic9 is tipped to carry a 6.37-inch LTPS panel at 2664 x 1236 resolution with a 120Hz refresh rate, a relatively compact size for a 2026 flagship. The Magic9 Pro Max steps up to a 6.8-inch panel with unusually thin 0.98mm bezels, also at 120Hz.
The Super Edition stands out with a 165Hz refresh rate on its 6.8-inch screen, a spec more commonly seen on gaming phones than on Honor’s mainstream flagships, which fits the model’s larger battery and cooling-first design. Exact panel type, resolution and brightness for the Super Edition have not surfaced yet.
Cameras
The camera system is the one area Honor has confirmed directly through its own teasers, rather than leaving it entirely to leaks. Both the Magic9 and Magic9 Pro Max carry a 200MP main sensor alongside a 200MP periscope telephoto, and Honor has confirmed its Magic9 Pro Max cameras were co-engineered with ARRI, the German company known for cinema cameras used on major film productions.
According to the specifications gathered so far, the Pro Max’s main sensor supports up to CIPA 8.0-rated stabilization through a 3 degree mechanical gimbal, while the telephoto sensor is rated at CIPA 7.5. The system reportedly supports ARRI LogC3 gamma curves and 10-bit 4:2:2 APV video recording, aimed at giving footage a more graded, cinema-style look straight out of the camera app. Honor is also expected to sell an optional Photography Master Kit with G500 and G200 teleconverter lenses that extend the telephoto reach further, according to Gizmochina’s pre-launch roundup.
The Super Edition takes a different approach with a simpler 50MP main, 12MP ultrawide and 50MP telephoto array, trading resolution for the battery and cooling upgrades that define that model. None of these cameras have been independently tested yet, so real-world image quality remains to be seen once review units ship.
Performance
Leaked chipset details point to a Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 inside the standard Magic9, which is effectively last year’s flagship silicon, while the Magic9 Pro Max is rumored to move to a newer Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 Pro built on a 2nm process. Some reports list the Pro Max chip simply as “Gen 6,” so the exact naming should be treated as unsettled until Qualcomm or Honor confirms it on stage.
No benchmark scores exist yet since the phones have not been released, and NexPloreInfo will not publish performance numbers until they come from a verified benchmark run rather than a leak.
Battery and Charging
Battery capacity is one of the more consistent numbers across multiple leaks: 8,000mAh for the Magic9, 8,800mAh for the Magic9 Pro Max, and a notably large 11,000mAh for the Super Edition, which would be among the biggest batteries fitted to a mainstream flagship phone. Charging speeds, reported by insider Digital Chat Station and relayed in Gizmochina’s near-final specs report, point to 80W wired and 50W wireless charging on the Magic9, rising to 100W wired and 80W wireless on the Pro Max. Honor has not disclosed charging figures for the Super Edition.
All of these numbers are manufacturer-style leaks rather than confirmed specifications, and actual charging times will depend on Honor’s official announcement and, eventually, independent lab testing.
Software and AI
Honor has not detailed which MagicOS version the Magic9 series will ship with. For context, the outgoing Magic8 series launched in China on MagicOS 10 over Android 16, with AI features such as an AI Photos Agent for editing, on-device deepfake and voice-clone detection, and a dedicated AI button. Honor is expected to build on that AI feature set for the Magic9 generation, though the company has not published a software changelog for the new phones yet.
Price and Availability
Honor has not announced pricing for any Magic9 model, and the September 28 event is a China-only launch. As of publishing, there is no confirmed price for the United States, United Kingdom, UAE, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, India or Europe.
Based on how Honor rolled out the Magic8 Pro, which launched in China in October before reaching the UK and continental Europe roughly three months later, a global rollout for the Magic9 series is not expected before November 2026 at the earliest. That timeline is an estimate drawn from the previous generation’s pattern, not a confirmed date, so treat it as a rough guide rather than a promise.
What’s Shaping Up to Impress
- A genuine hardware and color-science partnership with ARRI on the flagship camera, rather than just a software filter.
- Very large batteries across the range, topping out at 11,000mAh on the Super Edition.
- A newer Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 Pro chip reportedly reserved for the Pro Max, if the naming holds up.
What Remains Unclear
- No pricing has been announced for any model or any region.
- Charging speeds and chipset for the Super Edition have not surfaced.
- International availability, including for priority markets like the US, UK, UAE, Pakistan and India, has not been confirmed.
Who Should Watch This Launch?
Photography-focused buyers curious about cinema-style color science in a phone camera are the most obvious audience for the Magic9 Pro Max. Gamers and heavy multitaskers who want a phone that can last two full days may want to watch the Super Edition once its chipset and charging details are confirmed. Anyone currently comparing flagship phones with strong AI camera tools will also want to see how Honor’s pricing lands once the series reaches markets outside China.
Alternatives to Consider
If you are shopping now rather than waiting for the Magic9 to reach your region, a few current flagships are worth comparing. The Xiaomi 18 Fold offers a similar AI-heavy feature set in a foldable form factor, while our Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 8 review covers another strong foldable alternative already on sale.
For a more direct camera-versus-camera comparison, see how the outgoing generation stacks up in our iPhone 18 Pro vs Galaxy S26 Ultra spec comparison. Buyers who want strong Snapdragon performance without flagship pricing should also look at our POCO F9 Ultra review.
Frequently Asked Questions
When does the Honor Magic9 series launch?
Honor will unveil the Magic9 series on September 28, 2026, at an event in Beijing. The launch is China-only for now, with no international date confirmed.
How many Honor Magic9 models are there?
Three models are expected: the standard Honor Magic9, the camera-focused Magic9 Pro Max, and the battery-focused Magic9 Super Edition.
Does the Honor Magic9 Pro Max really use an ARRI camera?
The phone does not contain physical ARRI camera hardware. Honor has confirmed a co-engineering partnership with ARRI covering color science, gamma curves and stabilization tuning for the dual 200MP rear cameras.
What chipset does the Honor Magic9 use?
Leaks point to a Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 in the standard Magic9 and a newer Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 Pro in the Magic9 Pro Max, though Honor has not confirmed either chipset officially yet.
How big is the Honor Magic9 battery?
Leaked figures list 8,000mAh for the Magic9, 8,800mAh for the Magic9 Pro Max, and 11,000mAh for the Super Edition.
When will the Honor Magic9 launch outside China?
Honor has not confirmed an international date. Based on the Magic8 Pro’s rollout pattern, a global launch is unlikely before November 2026.
How much will the Honor Magic9 cost?
Pricing has not been announced for China or any other market. NexPloreInfo will update this article once Honor confirms official prices.
What Happens Next?
Honor’s Magic Grand Ceremony on September 28 should confirm the specifications that are currently only known through leaks, along with China pricing and a first look at international availability. Given how consistent the camera, battery and design leaks have been across multiple sources, the biggest open questions by launch day are likely to be final pricing and exactly when, or whether, the Super Edition reaches markets outside China.



Leave a Comment